FR

Biodiersité et connectivité écologique

Connectivité écologique

Les Alpes constituent une chaîne de montagnes relativement jeunes, une chaîne caractérisée par sa variété d’espaces naturels, de climats, de géographies et d’écosystèmes. Elles hébergent une biodiversité riche qui, pour sa survie, dépend des habitats alpins, tels que les zones boisées, les prairies et les cours d’eau. Cependant, les animaux se confrontent à bien des obstacles en raison des activités humaines, comme les infrastructures routières ou les terres agricoles utilisées de façon intensive. Les infrastructures conçues par l’homme fragmentent les paysages et détruisent les habitats, de sorte que les ressources dont dépendent les animaux deviennent inaccessibles. En outre, les populations se retrouvent isolées quand les schémas de migration sont perturbés. Cette situation est exacerbée par le changement climatique, ce qui expose bien des espèces alpines au danger d’extinction.

Les Espaces Protégés Alpins jouent un rôle essentiel dans la protection de la biodiversité, étant souvent le dernier refuge pour bien des espèces végétales et animales. Connecter les espaces protégés préserve à long terme la biodiversité en assurant la continuité des processus naturels.

La connectivité écologique est nécessaire sur terre, sous l’eau et dans l’air afin de sauvegarder la biodiversité pour les générations futures. Elle est la pierre angulaire de la conservation de la nature et se présente comme une réponse potentielle à la perte de la biodiversité puisque l’isolement des populations dans les espaces protégés n’est plus une solution viable.

Les pays alpins contribuent à la conservation mondiale de la nature

Les pays alpins s’engagent à protéger la biodiversité au travers de la Convention sur la Diversité Biologique. Puisque les régions montagneuses sont des hotspots de la biodiversité, des réseaux écologiques dans la région alpine aident à la réalisation de cet engagement mondial.

Les activités qui visent la protection de la biodiversité et assurent le bon fonctionnement des écosystèmes sont détaillées dans l’Article 12 du protocole de la protection de la nature de la Convention Alpine :

« Réseau écologique : Les Parties contractantes prennent les mesures adéquates pour établir un réseau national et transfrontalier d'espaces protégés, de biotopes et d'autres éléments protégés ou dignes de protection »

Cet article a jeté les bases de l’activité d’ALPARC depuis 2003, dont l’objectif était de créer des connexions spatiales entre espaces protégés.
Depuis lors, ALPARC a mis en oeuvre plusieurs activités, publications et conférences en référence à ce sujet.

Projets sur cet axe de travail:

ALPARC - Le Réseau Alpin des Espaces Protégés

Our site uses cookies to personalise content, to provide social media features and to analyse traffic.

EN
  • Biodiversity and Ecological Connectivity
    Biodiversity and Ecological Connectivity

    Ecological connectivity 

    The Alps are a relatively young mountain range characterized by its variety of natural spaces, climates, geographies and ecosystems. It is home to a rich biodiversity which depends on the Alpine habitats, such as woodlands, prairies and watercourses, for survival. However, animals face many obstacles due to human activities like road infrastructures or intensely used agricultural land. Humanmade infrastructure fragments landscapes and destroys habitats, making the resources on which animals depend inaccessible. Additionally, populations become isolated as migration patterns are disrupted. Climate change is exacerbating this situation, putting many Alpine species at risk of extinction.

    Alpine Protected Areas play a vital role in biodiversity protection. They are often the last refuge for many plants and animal species. Connecting protected areas preserves biodiversity on the long term by allowing for undisturbed natural processes to take place. 

    Ecological connectivity is needed on land, under water and in the air to safeguard biodiversity for future generations. It is the cornerstone for nature conservation and presents itself as a potential answer to biodiversity loss since isolating populations in protected areas is no longer a viable solution.

    Alpine countries contribute to global nature conservation 

    The Convention on Biological Diversity commits the Alpine countries to protecting biodiversity. Since mountains regions are hotspots for biodiversity, ecological networks in the Alpine region help fulfill this global commitment. 

    Activities aimed at protecting biodiversity and ensuring that ecosystems are functioning smoothly are found in Article 12 of the Nature Protection Protocol of the Alpine Convention:

    “Ecological Network: The contracting parties shall pursue the measures appropriate for creating a national and cross-border network of protected areas, biotopes and other environmental assets protected or acknowledged as worthy of protection”

    This article laid the groundwork for ALPARC’s activity since 2003, which focused on creating spatial links between protected areas. 

    Since then, ALPARC has implemented several activities, coordinated project publications and conferences on the topic. 

    Projects:

OpenSpaceAlps

OpenSpaceAlps

OpenSpaceAlps Near-natural open spaces are areas outside of human settlements that are free from technical development and other built str...

LUIGI

LUIGI

LUIGI: Linking Urban and Inner-Alpine Green Infrastructure - Multifunctional Ecosystem Services for more liveable territories. This projec...

ALPARC - The Alpine Network of Protected Areas

Our site uses cookies to personalise content, to provide social media features and to analyse traffic.