ALPARC and the Alpine Convention

The Alpine Convention, signed in 1991, is a framework agreement for the long-term protection of the alpine natural ecosystem and for a sustainable development of the Alpine region.

The Alpine Convention was ratified by the European Union and the 8 alpine States : Austria, France, Germany, Italy, Switzerland, Liechtenstein and Monaco.

ALPARC, a contribution to the Alpine Convention

The activities of ALPARC are firmly enshrined in the framework of the Alpine Convention and its accompanying implementing protocols.

ALPARC works closely with the Permanent Secretariat of the Alpine Convention on all activities related to protected species. Its main task is based on Article 12 of the protocol "Nature protection and landscape conservation" of the Alpine Convention:

Article 12 :

“The contracting parties take adequate measures to establish a network of existing national and transboundary protected areas, of biotopes and other protected elements or those to be protected. They commit themselves to harmonize the objectives and applicable measures in transboundary protectedareas.”

The aim of this protocol is to strengthen the environmental protection, especially regarding species, biotopes and landscapes. Thus, it is necessary to harmonize the measures of conservation within the whole alpine space.

ALPARC is also active in the fields of sustainable development in the regions of protected areas, information and environmental education. 

The organisation of the Alpine Convention:

The Alpine Conference is the political decision-making body of the Alpine Convention and consists of the Ministers of the Contracting Parties. Meetings of the Conference are normally held every two years in the Member State holding the Presidency of the Convention (one state holds the presidency for two years).

The Permanent Committee is the executive body of the Alpine Conference and ensures that the Convention’s decisions, principles and aims are out into practice. The Permanent Committee meets generally twice a year.

The Permanent Secretariat, established in 2003 with its main office in Innsbruck and a branch office in Bolzano/Bozen, provides support to the decision-making organs of the Convention, favors the exchange of experience and knowledge about the Alps and is in charge of public relations for the Alpine Convention.

ALPARC, the Alpine Network of Protected Areas, has a consultative voice as observer of the Alpine Convention. ALPARC has been created as a concrete contribution to the implementation of the Alpine Convention, so on.

February 28th 2013, the Permanent Secretariat of the Alpine Convention and the President of ALPARC signed a Memorandum of cooperation which aims at providing a durable basis for the cooperation between the signatories. 


Presidency of the Alpine Convention in 2015-2016: Germany 

Secretary General of the Alpine Convention: Mr. Markus Reiterer 

Vice-Secretary General: Mrs. Marianna Elmi


Visit the the website of the Alpine Convention